FO Friday: Wolfsmeedchen

Last week, Amber turned two. I really like Nicole’s tradition to knit birthday sweaters for her children. I tried to finish up the Mini Hoodie 2012 last year in time for her birthday, I made it by +18 days. Well, better late than never. With all the Christmas preparations, I never even started something for Hazel in 2012…
I tried my best and this year I got closer to finish a birthday sweater in time. I missed the birthday by +2 days.
This is it: my second Gathering Stripes sweater. In January, I finished Hazels Gathering Stripes. I love the pattern: simple but beautiful.
Since the girls are rather skinny and the pattern unisex, I cast on 10 stitches less than the pattern called for a size 2 year old.
As for the yarn, I used the same yarn as I used for the Mini Hoodie. A mixed grey fingering weight yarn from Hamburger Wollfabrik.
It was more or less by accident that I knit this sweater with the same yarn as last years Hoodie. As for the pink this was a rather spontaneous pick. I bought it back in October, 2010 (ravelry knows it all) and it was the best combination ever! I really love the colors.

Gathering stripes

As you can see, I did the ribbing in garter stitch, just because I wanted to try something new.
Gathering stripesI hope it fits all winter. It really paid off to cast on ten stitches less.
Weihnachtsmänner an StrickpulliAs for the last picture: you can see, Amber really looooves chocolate and Christmas is probably just her season. I took this picture on Monday while Hazel was at ballet class.
An hour we usually use to run some errands. Amber likes this hour I can spend with her solo. Of course, she got one of this chocolate Santa Claus right after I paid for it. I finished it one day later, almost 3/4 were still left 😉 (Milka plain chocolate are my mooooost favorite chocolate hollow body Santa Claus).

This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FO Friday: Wolfsmeedchen

  1. That is just adorable! And fits her perfectly 🙂

  2. Frau PN says:

    Der Pullover ist wirklich unglaublich schön!
    Eines Tages….. schaff ich das auch. Tschakaaa!

    Und die Amber ist so schnuffig!

  3. Andria says:

    I love it! I like the idea of knitting sweaters for birthdays, but since I have twins I’d have to be waaaay more organized than I am. I love the color combo you used 🙂

  4. Natalie says:

    Gorgeous pullover, she looks lovely in it!
    x
    Natalie
    Marigolds’ Loft

  5. Kepanie says:

    Love the mini garment. Super little cutie there.

  6. So cute! Girls do tend to be pretty much straight up and down up to a certain age, huh? When I was little my Mom bought all my skirts with over the shoulder straps or they’d just slide right off me 🙂

  7. Beautiful sweater (and a very cute little lady). I love birthday sweaters. Only the kids grow so fast! It was much faster to knit for them when they were little. 🙂

Leave a Reply

