wip Wednesday: Color Explosion!

Last week didn’t have a work-in-progress Wednesday or a FO Friday as Amber had been sick and stayed home with me for the week. She woke up on Tuesday, crying, telling us her ear hurts. She wouldn’t move from my side, always tucking her ear right on my shoulder or chest and started crying when I moved her. I knew from the very first minute that she probably had an ear infection. As the pediatrician only had office hours on Tuesday afternoon I took her to the doctor right down the road. We didn’t have to wait long. I was right about the ear infection. We git some medicine which actually helped within a couple of hours.
As I had a business appointment in the afternoon my dad took over at noon. By the time she was ready for bed at night, he said, no one would have noticed that she was sick. Bold and happy as usual, he said.
On Thursday night when I thought everything was fine again, Hazel wouldn’t fall asleep until way past nine and just when she finally did Amber started waking up again, crying. Shortly before midnight she threw up. Everything since lunch. This must have bugged her! And she didn’t say a word!

So as you can see: There is always something…
I got back to knitting on the weekend. On my way to my appointment on Tuesday I re-started those “Broken Seed Stitch Socks” I first tried about a month ago. This time with fewer sts and, as suggested by several of you in the comments regarding those Nozky legwarmers, I did start both at once and knit them using magic loop.
wip: Broken Seed Stitch Socks
The first rows were a bit tricky, but ever since it’s working pretty well. A woman on the train on Tuesday asked me if this isn’t super complicated and if the yarn would be all tangled up. Well, I think, if you’d only have one ball of yarn for each sock it won’t’t be a problem at all. With four balls, two for each sock, the two balls for one sock need some untangling every once in a while. But all in all, this method is pretty easy to manage.
I used Schachenmayr’s Regia one ball in solid white and one ball in color 03726.
First, I tried finding a matching starting point. As I couldn’t find the repeat anywhere in the first meters I thought “screw it!”. So they won’t look the same at all.
wip: Broken Seed Stitch Socks
But, honestly, I am already happy to be that far into both socks!
Oh, by the way: they fit too!

See more wip Wednesday posts over at Tami’s amis and Frontier Dreams.

This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to wip Wednesday: Color Explosion!

  1. Natalie says:

    Looking awesome! I am totally in love with your project 🙂
    I hope the little one is on the mend.
    x
    Natalie
    Marigolds’ Loft

    • Kraftling says:

      She is back to her usual self. A Chatterbox with lots of applesauce in her head (found this on several website meaning she has a lot of “interesting” ideas in her head. Was actually looking for something in the context of “nonsense” but, as we all know, it’s not nonsense for children). In German it would be “bunte Knete im Kopf haben” (having colorful play dough in her head)

  2. Heather says:

    They look great! And I love the color! The needles are so small! I’m not sure I could ever make proper socks with needles so small…I like to cheat with worsted yarn and size 6 needles. Of course those are for my kiddos, I haven’t ever knit socks for an adult before 🙂 Good job!

  3. Kepanie says:

    I will have to check out that pattern. You are doing a marvelous job.
    I’m sorry your little one is suffering with that ear infection. Poor baby.

  4. Julia M. says:

    This looks great! I’m a big fan of white or gray in combination with bright colours … 😀
    Ear infections are nasty. My mum always put half an onion into a piece of cloth and wrapped that around our ear, so the juice would drive out the infection … I hope she’ll get better soon!

    • Kraftling says:

      Thank you!
      I know about this onion juice thing too. I did it to myself the last time I had an ear infection. Thanks for reminding me again, almost forgot about it!

      • Julia M. says:

        You’re welcome! 😀 I think I’ve read that it also works with a potato as well … If yes, I would have preferred that as a child. 😉

  5. Pingback: Die verstrickte Dienstagsfrage 48/2013 | Kraftling's

Leave a Reply

